Theme-year

24

 
 

Daring 

to Live Hopefully

 

Kingdom of God—Utopia—Renewal
“Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth. … He will dwell with them as their God; they will be his people … and God will wipe every tear from their eyes. Death will be no more; mourning and crying and pain will be no more.” (Revelation 21:1,3-4)“

 

Like so many Christians of their time, the Anabaptists in the 16th Century believed in an imminent end of the world. They reckoned with the breaking in of the kingdom of God in the foreseeable future. Hence apocalyptic visions evolved in a few Anabaptist congregations, whereupon the chosen, through baptism by faith, were to be assimilated into the apocalyptic flock. Above all, the peasants and the simple populace were held to be the true instruments of God, the worldly powers having discredited themselves through exploitation, constant conflict and greed. The benchmarks of the kingdom of God should be implemented and achieved within Anabaptist congregations. This they indicated by consciously separating themselves from the world through their disciplined lives, and by striving for the purity and sanctity of their fellowship.

In the Anabaptist Kingdom of Münster, 1534/35, the citizens of the city organized the “New Jerusalem” as a holy place and redemptive city of God. This “utopia,” however led to radical divisions between believers and unbelievers, to the expulsion and persecution of dissidents, as well as to violent defensive measures.

Challenges for Today

In the Theme-Year 2024 arises the question regarding the enduring potential of Anabaptist hopes and perspectives. Where do congregations find themselves today in the perennial interplay between tradition and renewal? Are we prepared to challenge our own heart-felt positions? Is it enough for us to reserve hope in God’s future for our own personal faith alone? Cannot the biblical images of hope inspire much more towards a modified way of life, and a new search for a just society of all people—in small and large matters? The biblical benchmarks of the kingdom of God are not only for inner reflection; they can overcome long-standing social, economic and even sexual barriers. How can Christian hope be implemented in everyday life and in churches, without harming others and excluding those with different beliefs? Utopias can fail, but even then, they leave behind as an exhortation the dream of a fraternal world, and a new quality of human society.

Themenjahr

24

 
 

gewagt! 

Hoffnung leben

 

Reich Gottes – Utopie – Erneuerung
„Und ich sah einen neuen Himmel und eine neue Erde […]Und er wird bei ihnen wohnen, und sie werden seine Völker sein […] und Gott wird abwischen alle Tränen von ihren Augen, und der Tod wird nicht mehr sein, noch Leid noch Geschrei noch Schmerz wird mehr sein. (Offb 21, 1.3-4)“

 

Wie so viele Christen und Christinnen ihrer Zeit glaubten die Täufer im 16. Jahrhundert an ein nahes Ende der Welt. Sie rechneten mit der Durchsetzung des Reiches Gottes in absehbarer Zukunft. Daraus entwickelten sich in einigen täuferischen Gemeinden apokalyptische Vorstellungen, wonach die Erwählten durch die Glaubenstaufe in die endzeitliche Schar eingegliedert werden sollten. Vor allem die Bauern und die einfache Bevölkerung hielt man für die wahren Werkzeuge Gottes, nachdem sich die weltlichen Herrschaften durch Ausbeutung, immerwährenden Streit und Gier diskreditiert hatten. Die Maßstäbe des Reiches Gottes sollten in den täuferischen Gemeinden umgesetzt und verwirklicht werden. Das zeigten sie, indem sie sich durch ihren Lebensstil bewusst von der Welt absonderten und sich um die Reinheit und Heiligkeit ihrer Gemeinschaft bemühten.

Im Täuferreich zu Münster 1534/35 gestalteten die Bürger der Stadt das „Neue Jerusalem“ als heiligen Ort und rettende Gottesstadt. Diese Utopie führte jedoch zu radikalen Trennungen zwischen Gläubigen und Ungläubigen, der Vertreibung und Verfolgung Andersdenkender sowie zur gewaltsamen Herrschaftssicherung.

Herausforderungen für heute

Im Themenjahr 2024 gilt es, täuferische Hoffnungen und Perspektiven auf ihr bleibendes Potenzial hin zu befragen. Wo finden sich die Gemeinden im immerwährenden Wechselspiel von Tradition und Erneuerung heute wieder? Sind wir bereit, lieb gewonnene Positionen zu hinterfragen? Reicht es, wenn wir die Hoffnung auf Gottes Zukunft nur für unseren persönlichen Glauben reservieren? Können die biblischen Hoffnungsbilder nicht vielmehr zu einem veränderten Lebensstil und einer neuen Suche nach einer gerechten Gesellschaft aller Menschen – im Kleinen wie im Großen – inspirieren? Die biblischen Maßstäbe des Reiches Gottes sind nicht nur ein innerliches Gedankenspiel, sondern sie können die bestehenden sozialen, ökonomischen und sogar geschlechtlichen Schranken überwinden. Wie kann die christliche Hoffnung im Alltag und in den Gemeinden umgesetzt werden, ohne den Anderen zu verletzen und Andersgläubige auszuschließen? Utopien können scheitern, aber auch dann lassen sie den Traum von einer geschwisterlichen Welt und einer neuen Qualität von menschlicher Gemeinschaft als Mahnung zurück.